A Short Note

Last night I had the honour of being named ALOUD’s new host – no idle task, considering my predecessors are Bibi June and Ross McFarlane, two extraordinary poets and people in their own right. That being said, I have high hopes for the future. I may not be the evening’s Mufasa, but I can attempt to be a lyrical Simba if you’ll let me.

On a more sentimental note, I have a lot to thank ALOUD for. It was my first stage, and my only one for a very long time, and while I have performed in a good few other places now, there will always be something special about Jim’s Bar at the QMU and that iridescent, blinding light that dangles from that familiar ceiling. All poetry night’s have their individual merits, and ALOUD’s lies in its spectacularly encouraging and engaged audience. Which is why (aside from the above bias) I am so very excited for the upcoming academic year. Having the opportunity to encourage and watch grow so many talented writers over the last year has been spectacular, and I can only imagine it getting better.

Anyway, I said this was a short note, so I’ll leave it at that, but please know how absurdly stoked I am for all future poetry events. So y’know. Invite me to them. Keep coming along to ALOUD. Support the arts.

Leave a Reply

